Annual Conferences

Since 1979 the then ASCA held an annual conference hosted by one of the member cities. This was usually a 2 or 3 day event that attracted a large number of delegates from all over Australia to listen to talks and participate in discussions on a wide range of topics relating to sister cities. The conference also had a good social aspect to it and also provided partner activities separate from the conference. There was also a parallel Youth Program that encouraged younger delegates from member cities to meet and engage in an interesting program of activities designed especially for them. One of the highlights for the main conference was on the last day when the youth presented the outcomes from their activities, often in a very humorous and engaging manner.
Due to various issues a conference host city had not come forward between 2015 and 2022, therefore SCA ran a number of one day forums which, although shorter in length, they have had valuable content and were always thought provoking.
A full one-day Conference with eminent speakers was held in 2023 as the first face-to-face event in almost four years and was kindly supported by the City of Wyndham, Victoria, with additional support from our friends at CLAIR and held in Werribee.

Where SCA Forums have been held

2019 – Perth WA (including AGM)
2018 – Blacktown NSW (including AGM)
2018 – Melbourne VIC
The presentations for this Forum are listed below, and each is a link to download that file so you can open it on your computer (you will need MS PowerPoint or a PowerPoint Viewer to see the content). The final document is a summarised report of the Forum, and gives some context to each of the presentations – this will open in a separate window.
Presentations and Report

2017 – Mildura. NSW (including AGM)
2016 – Melbourne VIC (including AGM)

Where SCA Conferences have been held

2023 – Werribee VIC
2015 – Blacktown NSW
2014 – Bunbury WA
2013 – Broken Hill NSW
2012 – Devonport TAS
2011 – Toowoomba QLD
2010 – Rockhampton QLD
2009 – Tamworth NSW

Where ASCA Conferences have been held

2008 – Gosford, New South Wales – this conference formally resolved that the name of the organisation be changed to Sister Cities Australia Inc (SCA).
2007 – Darwin, Northern Territory
2006 – Devonport, Tasmania
2005 – Latrobe, Victoria
2004 – Shire of Noosa, Queensland
2003 – Orange, New South Wales
2002 – Bendigo, Victoria
2001 – Bunbury/Busselton, Western Australia
2000 – Adelaide, South Australia
1999 – Darwin, Northern Territory
1998 – Port Stephens, N.S.W
1997 – Hobart, Tasmania
1996 – Cairns, Far North Queensland
1995 – Hobsons Bay (Altona) Victoria
1994 – Belmont, Western Australia
1993 – Broken Hill, New South Wales
1992 – Penrith, New South Wales
1991 – Devonport, Tasmania
1990 – Darwin, Northern Territory
1989 – Shepparton, Victoria
1988 – Cairns, Far North Queensland
1987 – Lake Macquarie, New South Wales
1986 – Hobart, Tasmania
1985 – Albury, New South Wales
1984 – Bega, New South Wales
1983 – Townsville, Queensland
1982 – Alice Springs, Northern Territory – this Conference saw the first ASCA Constitution adopted.
1981 – Hobart, Tasmania, hosted representatives from all States of Australia plus the Northern Territory, New Zealand, Malaysia and Japan. Delegates present resolved that The Australian Sister Cities Association (ASCA) be formed, and the ALGA in Canberra was notified accordingly.
1980 – Goulburn, New South Wales hosted a meeting of representatives to carry the Newcastle discussions further.
1979 – Newcastle, New South Wales, nine cities were represented in initial discussions as to whether there should be a national body to represent the interests of, and the sharing of information regarding, sister cities throughout Australia.

Contact Us