Sister Cities Australia National Awards

Each year an important feature of the Sister Cities Australia Annual Conference is the National Awards Program. This program aims to encourage excellence and innovation in sister city activities, to develop a permanent information resource for members and to provide a forum for information exchange.

Entry into the National Awards is easy – there is an essential criteria for each category and any entry, no matter how small or simple, is encouraged. The three independent Judges’ decisions are not made on how much money has been spent, or on how sophisticated the project has been, the Judges’ decisions are based on how well each entry meets the criteria, as outlined category by category in the Handbook. Entrants are required to follow the essential criteria points as set out in the various categories, and in the order in which they appear.

2020 National Awards canceled

Due to the COVID-19 crisis the SCA Executive has made the decision to cancel the National Awards for this year. Next year, providing all restrictions are removed and life is back to normal, the Awards will be held and will cover the eligibility periods for 2020 and 2021.

Notification will be made once details are available on the 2021 Awards and the National Awards Handbook will be distributed containing all the relevant information.

In the years that the National Awards Program is being conducted the National Awards Handbook, together with the Category Entry Forms, will be emailed to all SCA Corporate Members in January/February of that year and also placed on the website.

If you need more information about these award programs, please contact SCA’s National Awards Co-ordinator, Christina Despoteris.

Documents & Forms

On the Media/Documents page is a link to the PDF format version of our National Awards Handbook, but as the Awards are open to SCA Members only the relevant entry forms are available from the Members Only section of the website. The Handbook can be viewed either with your internet browser or you are also able to save it to disk or print a hard copy.

More Information

Awards Categories & Criteria

Each year Sister Cities Australia holds the National Awards where awards are presented to members submitting the winning entries in each category. Shown below are the categories and essential criteria. For more information please see our National Awards page.

Category 01

Community Involvement

This is a project that demonstrates the widest possible community participation involving cultural differences or sporting activities between sister cities during the relevant period.

Category 02

Youth Project

A significant youth project is such that it encourages and stimulates youth participation in the local sister cities program. An entry in this category may include any number of activities including sporting, cultural, educational and fundraising projects during the relevant period.

Category 03

New Affiliation Project

This award is presented in recognition of new affiliations either completed or well under way during the period under review.

Category 04

Tourism & Trade Project

A Tourism & Trade Project is an imaginative project that furthers the development of tourism and trade between sister cities whilst at the same time promoting the ideals of people-to-people contact during the eligible period.

Category 05

Overall Program

The “Overall Program Award” is presented to the member that has been able to demonstrate continuity of activity, citizen and community involvement at all levels and shown imagination in a wide range of projects and activities.

Sister Cities Australia Winning Entrants

2019 Winning Entries

Listed below are the Sister Cities Australia 2018 Winning Entrants. If you need more information about any of these award programs, please contact SCA’s National Awards Co-ordinator, Christina Despoteris.

Category Project Winning City / Cities
Category 01 Community Involvement Blacktown NSW
Category 02 Youth Project Blacktown NSW
Category 03 New Affiliation No Entries Received
Category 04 Tourism & Trade Project Bundaberg QLD
Category 05 Overall Program Bundaberg QLD and Port Stephens NSW


Sister Cities Australia Award Winners

2019 National Award Winners

As a result of the National Awards we provide a list of all Award Winners each year on the Sister Cities Australia Website. If you need more information about our award programs, please contact Sister Cities Australia’s National Awards Co-ordinator, Christina Despoteris.


Contact Us